Leg sleeves to be precise. And I don’t know what’s going on in this photo (which is not of me by the way).  Anyway, tonight I decided to try out the calf sleeves my brother and sister-in-law gave me for Christmas.  They are made by Zensah (the sleeves, not the in-laws), and one thing I can already say about them is that they feel very VERY nice.  I may just start wearing them around the house.  Are M&Ms less fattening when you wear compression sleeves?  Are the excess calories forced to flee to less constricted forms? Not likely, so back to the review.

What a striking image I made – rocking the old school mailman look on the treadmill in my garage, tucked between the fridge and assorted stuff .  So what do I think of compression sleeves so far?  Well, I didn’t fall of the treadmill, I guess that’s one check in the pro column.  The main thing I hope to gain from them is reduced muscle cramping.  However, those tend to strike me around June or July.  I’m guessing my garage temp was somewhere in the 40s, so cramping wasn’t really a problem this time around.  I did get that great “pro” feel when wearing them.  Good enough for Kona, good enough for my garage!

Seriously though, running folks in the know highly recommended these.  Although I only did a short run, I felt good.  I’ve appreciated the compressive qualities of tri and cycling shorts I’ve used in the past.  I wore some tighter fitting knee warmers for the iron distance race I did this past November, and perhaps it was more psychological that physical, but I thought my legs felt better for those 112 miles than in most of my previous training rides.  At this point I’m hopeful. The real test will come when I unleash my latest fashion statement on the open road – just as soon as the temps get out of the 20s.  Look out Cliff Claven, here I come!

